Poor Maps of London

From everything this class has taught me, it has become quite apparent that the wool had been pulled over my eyes until now. I’m sure that I’m having a similiar reaction to the knowledge of such a large poverty level as would a foreigner. The maps bring a visual element that is even more shocking than statistics alone. The study was so comprehensive that a single street, a spanse covered in fecal matter and infested with disease, was the barrier between the semi-criminal and the well-off of the region. It’s mind boggling how he could narrow it down to a specific building in an area instead of a block corner. I applaud Booth for the amount of time and extreme effort that went into his study. If I had been around and not terrified of contracting a life-threatening illness by crossing the street, I would gladly have contributed my time and resources to this worthy cause.

Leave a Reply

